Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I drove company cars for 45 years, and bought a Volvo upon retirement.

Volvo is now 7 years old with 200,000 km on the odometer, and I'm looking to trade it in for an I-Pace. It's my first time buying a car with a trade-in, but I assumed the dealer would take a look at the car, name a price and then send the car to auction. It seems that this dealer wants to find a buyer for the Volvo before we can do a deal.

Is this normal?

·
Registered
27 Posts

Volvo is now 7 years old with 200,000 km on the odometer, and I'm looking to trade it in for an I-Pace. It's my first time buying a car with a trade-in, but I assumed the dealer would take a look at the car, name a price and then send the car to auction. It seems that this dealer wants to find a buyer for the Volvo before we can do a deal.

Is this normal?
NO.

that is ridiculous.

Think about it: how long do they expect you to wait before you get your I-Pace? what if they have months and months of tire-kickers and no real serious buyer on the Volvo?

Sale of the trade is not your responsibility, if so, why not just sell the Volvo privately?

This is not a purchase and sale of a house. This is hat car dealers do. Your assumption is correct. I'd tell them to go piss up a rope.

good luck!

·
Registered
2020 I-PACE EV400 SE
7 Posts
If you have a carmax near you, get a quote. This will help you negotiate with the dealers, as they usually will be willing to beat it. We've never heard of waiting for a buyer first before selling a car - I would go to a different Jaguar dealer if I were you.

·
Premium Member
2020 I-Pace HSE Indus Silver
750 Posts
NOT normal and this dealer is full of BS. Try Vroom, Shift, Carvana or Carmax. They will give you a quote within mins online!

·
Premium Member
81 Posts