Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up an i-pace a few days ago and mostly loving it. Before this, I had a bmw 530e plugin hybrid, which got totaled, then COVID came so I got a Ford Fusion Energi plug-in hybrid, and just traded that in for my i-pace. I got a 2019, which has been noted here as having killer deals and I was quite surprised of the discount. It actually came in a little less than the Tesla Model Y, which I also looked at it. The Tesla was compelling -- great range, nice exterior, and quite a lot of storage. But it doesn't the US government rebate, the single screen with no other controls is not comfortable for me, the interior didn't look like I think it should for that price point, and dropping into the "store" was sort of a waste of time because you can't actually see/drive any of the cars until you make an appointment.

Anyway, loving the car, though I'm having issues that can't seem to resolved: No Data, so dealer replaced the SIM but ATT doesn't recognize my car's VIN, and I can't use any of the connected map functions because the car tells me I need to register with jaguar.here.com, but that site doesn't let me add my VIN either. So I cannot even update the maps. Jaguar wouldn't help me until I took a picture of my registration to prove the car is mine. Now they "believe" the car is mine and I'm the first owner, but I don't know why it's taking so long to resolve these dumb issues. I certainly never had to do any of this with my bmw, heck in my ford I easily registered for all of the services and that was a used.

So, love the car, LOVE being all electric (though I wish there were some charging stations around me!!), just a pretty poor new car experience and not what I expected of a car of this price point.

Anyway, hi everyone, I'm glad to be here :D
 

·
Registered
2019 FE Photon Red
Joined
·
523 Posts
Welcome. I too had data problems to start out. My problem was that AT&T had a different id code for the telematic module compared to what the vehicle showed. I believe the dealer had either replaced the module or reset it before I took delivery. It was an easy paperwork fix, but took a few days for AT&T and JLR headquarters to get on the same page. They apparently need to talk directly, not through the owner nor the dealership.
 

·
Premium Member
2020 I-Pace HSE Indus Silver
Joined
·
708 Posts
Welcome. I just traded my 2019 I-Pace for a 2020. Great deals on 2019 and even some 2020s. You will love it.

I too have no data in my 2020. It worked perfectly in my 2019, but AT&T says the SIM card installed in my new 2020 is not only not registered, but it is not in their system :-o

Dealer says if I want them to look into it, I have to make a Service appt. and leave my car for a few days! What? Nope, not gonna happen, lol.

In all honesty, the dealer told me most people do not continue paying for the AT&T 4G data once the free 3 months expires, since it is kind of useless. I was annoyed that mine did not work from day 1, but then I just reminded myself that I do not need it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So I got everything worked out after a lot of persistence and nerves lol. So as far as I could tell, I had old versions of software, I think it was S19A (I know there are different software modules and I've scoured the forum trying to understand just how many there are and what versions are the latest but I'm pretty confused). Anyway, the dealer updated the software and now I have S20B, which seemed to fix the vehicle creep and made my touchscreen more responsive. Then the SIM: the car just didn't recognize the SIM, so no connectivity worked: no map updates, no traffic, etc. Dealer spent quite a bit of time trying to fix the SIM issue, and they were quite determined to fix it rather than just replace it. I guess the SIMs are quite coveted. Anyway, they replaced it, I got a 4G and got connectivity. Then I figured , well why not get the free trial. ATT site said my VIN didn't exist. So I called them, and after 48 hours, they added it for me, all fixed.

The last annoying thing was this site: jaguar.here.com. You have to go there to get map updates, which I needed because some of the streets here weren't on the map. Again, I tried to add my VIN, it says it added it, but it didn't and reported I have no vehicles in my account and I should add one. That's when I called JAG, they made me send a copy of my registration before they would create a case for me. I didn't like that, ie not the service I expect on a premium car, but I had no choice. So I sent it, they created a case, in about a day and half suddenly the site accepted my VIN, I downloaded the map update and applied it, it worked!

So now finally everything works in the car and I can enjoy it. It's awesome!!! When I find myself enjoying the power it has, I put it into eco mode to stop me from playing!! I am charging it with a 220V/16 AMP charger leftover from my bmw, and it seems to be fast enough.

Yes, there must be some crazy deals because when I was looking at mine, the dealer sold like 4 that day. For sure the discounts were much more than I could have dreamed of and it didn't take much effort. For that I'm thankful, I think the dealer was professional and didn't play any games!!

Well, I think I just joined the club!!!!
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
2,355 Posts
Hahaha, awesome! Your persistence paid off (and your dealer did well). Welcome! You will definitely enjoy the car if you can deal with the occasional idiosyncrasy. 🍺 (y)
 

·
Premium Member
19 I-pace HSE Polaris/Fuji white with most options and a lot of accessories
Joined
·
904 Posts
With respect to jaguar.here.com (here.com in general), it doesn't say anything about there being a lag between creation of the account and using it. It took a day for mine to be available after I set it up. I did not have to get anyone else involved.

This is entirely on the here.com company and Jaguar has nothing to do with it. In your case they may have contacted here.com, but the normal process would have created the account anyway. Here.com really should be put up a message when the account created notifying users, or find a faster method. They probably have to validate the VIN with the vehicle manufacturer before allowing use.

Some SIMs and even some SIM readers in the earlier cars have had issues. It reads like you've got a good dealer willing to ensure a problem gets fixed properly.

Welcome to the forum.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
I am having the same issue with the SIM card. While I don't really care about the 4G connectivity or using it as a hot spot, without a functioning SIM card you can't even use the free services like traffic updates. This has been the most frustrating part and it is 100% AT&T's fault (well not really 100%, if the dealer hadn't activated it to use as a demo there wouldn't have been an issue). I have been working with them and the dealer for 4 weeks trying to get this resolved. For now I have to manually connect my car to my phone's hot spot to get traffic updates. Might as well use the Google Maps in Apple car play but that won't give me battery range and nearby chargers. GRRR

Also, I can't get the voice guidance to work on the JLR Nav at all, no matter what I try. Anyone else have that issue and know a fix?
 

·
Premium Member
2020 I-Pace HSE Indus Silver
Joined
·
708 Posts
I am having the same issue with the SIM card. While I don't really care about the 4G connectivity or using it as a hot spot, without a functioning SIM card you can't even use the free services like traffic updates. This has been the most frustrating part and it is 100% AT&T's fault (well not really 100%, if the dealer hadn't activated it to use as a demo there wouldn't have been an issue). I have been working with them and the dealer for 4 weeks trying to get this resolved. For now I have to manually connect my car to my phone's hot spot to get traffic updates. Might as well use the Google Maps in Apple car play but that won't give me battery range and nearby chargers. GRRR

Also, I can't get the voice guidance to work on the JLR Nav at all, no matter what I try. Anyone else have that issue and know a fix?
Bama....since I too do not have the 4G working in my new 2020, is AT&T at least saying your SIM is valid?

I asked my dealer if they inserted my SIM months ago before I took delivery, and if maybe the free 3 months lapsed...but they insist that the SIM was popped out of the plastic card (which I have) and inserted on 8/11/20, the day I bought my I-Pace.

When I went to an AT&T store and provided them with the SIM card info, they said it is not even in their AT&T system as a valid or registered SIM card. They would not give me a new SIM card and said that I cannot even buy one or start 4G service via AT&T. #CrazyTown
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
Bama....since I too do not have the 4G working in my new 2020, is AT&T at least saying your SIM is valid?

I asked my dealer if they inserted my SIM months ago before I took delivery, and if maybe the free 3 months lapsed...but they insist that the SIM was popped out of the plastic card (which I have) and inserted on 8/11/20, the day I bought my I-Pace.

When I went to an AT&T store and provided them with the SIM card info, they said it is not even in their AT&T system as a valid or registered SIM card. They would not give me a new SIM card and said that I cannot even buy one or start 4G service via AT&T. #CrazyTown
Yeah I certainly haven't been impressed with ATT on this one. The dealers also don't understand the system. They think they can just give you any SIM card and it will work like a cell phone. These don't work that way. The SIM card is registered to a specific vehicle VIN and IMEI number. Lots of issues with this system. Today I was finally able to register and sign up for service. So now I have the service which I am paying for, but the **** thing still won't work. The other issue is all the ATT tech support is likely in India. So they will have me try something, I will and let them know then have to wait a day to hear back after their "back office" team reacts to what I tell them. They will lose a lot of business with their MyVehicle system if they can't get this type of thing fixed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
As I understand how the SIM works: You need to have a working sim card to get connectivity services, like traffic and search results for navigation. If you don't have a 4G symbol, you won't get these services. The dealer has some screen where they put in the iccid of the sim, and if the sim is valid, then you'll get connectivity that you're supposed to get with the car. Now to actually get internet in the car, you have to register at ATT connected car and put in your VIN. If you get "VIN not found," then you call ATT connected car, explain what's up, and they will create a case. Then they have to reach out to Jaguar to request the info about the VIN. Finally, when that's all worked out, you can subscribe or get your free 3GB. ATT connected car actually called me to tell me it was fixed if i wanted to check it while they were on the phone with me.

My dealer did everything they could to use the existing car SIM even though it clearly wasn't working. Only after all of that did they give me a new SIM (and they took the old SIM and even went into my storage compartment to retrieve the old sim card holder!). They really protect those and I don't know why, it's so much effort to activate I can't imagine that anyone would steal one.
 

·
Registered
2019 FE Photon Red
Joined
·
523 Posts
As I understand how the SIM works: You need to have a working sim card to get connectivity services, like traffic and search results for navigation. If you don't have a 4G symbol, you won't get these services. The dealer has some screen where they put in the iccid of the sim, and if the sim is valid, then you'll get connectivity that you're supposed to get with the car. Now to actually get internet in the car, you have to register at ATT connected car and put in your VIN. If you get "VIN not found," then you call ATT connected car, explain what's up, and they will create a case. Then they have to reach out to Jaguar to request the info about the VIN. Finally, when that's all worked out, you can subscribe or get your free 3GB. ATT connected car actually called me to tell me it was fixed if i wanted to check it while they were on the phone with me.
That fits my understanding of the system, but with a few more details. Took AT&T and JLR about 2 weeks to get mine sorted. Funny that the traffic info etc appears w/o the full connection to AT&T. That was my observation as well, and the dealership was convinced the problem was solved when they saw the live traffic pop up on the maps. We (myself and dealership tech specialist) then spent a couple of hrs in the car trying all sorts of tricks to get the internet connection.
 

·
Premium Member
19 I-pace HSE Polaris/Fuji white with most options and a lot of accessories
Joined
·
904 Posts
The live services provided by InControl Pro do not use the AT&T service (SIM you can get at in the centre console). They use the internal SIM for the car. The SOTA uses the internal SIM too. This requires a subscription for the InControl Pro services and that comes with the car for 5 years (remote services) and InControl Pro Services (10 years).

To check subscription status, use the phone app, scroll right to Remote Climate, Journeys, or Assistance, touch the 3 dots in the lower right, touch Settings, and touch Subscriptions.

The SIM for AT&T (or other provider) data service provides Connected Navigation (real time data for routing), WIFI hotspot, and data for a Bluetooth paired phone. A paired phone, and other phones using the WIFI hotspot, can use this for a data connection using the car's antenna and get a better signal for it. It is essentially providing the phones of the car's occupants to be connected to this WIFI instead of using their own data plans.

If your phone gets a strong enough signal for its data usage (e.g. Android Auto or Carplay) while driving along, then you may not get much benefit from using this SIM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
I've got an old AT&T mobile share plan that I've been using for years for cars, i devices, AppleWatch, etc. It's an extra $10 per month for each new device, so I have both of the cars on there since I occasionally drive in remote areas where the car can pick up a signal, but my phone struggles to do so.

This is the third car that I've added to the plan and each time it has been a major PITA and I just resign myself to burning an hour at the AT&T store.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deutsch100
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top