Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I have the ChargePoint 50Amp Flex home charger. Plug-in wiring into a 240v outlet set with a 50Amp circuit breaker.
The circuit breaker trips each time the car charges to 100% - right at that 100% mark.
Chargepoint replaced the unit. Same issue.
Set the amperage in the charging unit to 40amps using the ChargePoint app. Same issue.
Do I need a hardwired connection? Though the ChargePoint installation guide says plug-in install is fine for a 50Amp connection.
Any help much appreciated.

Super Moderator
Hi and Welcome!
I'm not an electrician but I think if this were a common problem we would have heard about it here on the forum as people are quite vocal about the issues they encounter. I suspect the circuit breaker or some other issue with your panel ...
How's the car otherwise? 馃嵑

EDIT: I missed the fact this is a 50 Amp charger .... agree with subsequent post

Registered
2020 S
First a 50A breaker can not handle a 50A load continuously. You need a 70A breaker and therefore wiring sized for 70A. If your electrician wired it that way knowing you were using a 50A charger, then find a different electrician. That being said the I-Pace won't charge above around 30A anyway.

Super Moderator
Is the charger set to 50 amps? The flex charger allows different currents, have you set it to 32? That's where it should be.

Registered
I have the ChargePoint 50Amp Flex home charger. Plug-in wiring into a 240v outlet set with a 50Amp circuit breaker.
The circuit breaker trips each time the car charges to 100% - right at that 100% mark.
Chargepoint replaced the unit. Same issue.
Set the amperage in the charging unit to 40amps using the ChargePoint app. Same issue.
Do I need a hardwired connection? Though the ChargePoint installation guide says plug-in install is fine for a 50Amp connection.
Any help much appreciated.
Welcome to the forum! How long have you owned your I-Pace? Any photos yet?