Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum banner

air conditioning a/c issue

7K views 18 replies 8 participants last post by  Jeffrey Steinhorn 
#1 ·
I am a having an issue with the a/c in my i-pace. It seems to work great for the first 5-15 minutes when driving the vehicle but then just shuts off. Next time I get in my car and drive the a/c works and then shuts off. Once it shuts off it does not start back up until i stop driving. It also doesnt start if i just momentarily stop, it seems to have to sit for a bit. Doesn't seem to matter on the charge of the battery or the drive mode which generally is comfort. I am not hitting any buttons, I am just driving when it goes from cold to warm. I have an appointment on the 10th, for this and a software update. Just hoping someone will say something like, 'just change the auto a/c shut off setting hidden in...."

#3 · (Edited)
I am no expert, but you need to become familiar with the various modes of operation.

Auto climate mode can revert to manual if you adjust (override) the fan speed or temperature dials. Some cars have up to 4 AC zone controls, perhaps there is some interaction if the temperature is set too high in manual mode.

Eco climate mode will cut off air for unoccupied passenger seats and reduce AC power consumption in other ways.

The AC symbol at the top corner of the display must be lit up (orange) to provide heat-pump heating or cooling. The air vents will still blow when the heat-pump is off. I believe that heated air is available from heating elements, but with the AC symbol lit the heat-pump takes much less power from the battery.

Cheers, Steve

Reactions: CurtSprings2
#4 ·
I am no expert, but you need to become familiar with the various modes of operation.

Auto climate mode can revert to manual if you adjust (override) the fan speed or temperature dials. Some cars have up to 4 AC zone controls, perhaps there is some interaction if the temperature is set too high in manual mode.