Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
MY2019
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all - would anyone here know if swapping out the MY2019 standard rearview mirror with a digital rearview mirror - at a (preferably) reputable auto repair shop - void my Jaguar warranty?

I've been reading up on installation of a digital mirror here in the forums and elsewhere, and it seems doable (by someone other than me that is...will definitely need a professional in my case), but just worried that if I do this, I may run into trouble in the future with dealerships, should any issues arise whilst still under the cat/car's warranty?

Any advice would be much appreciated - thank you all!

·
Registered
231 Posts
I am not a lawyer, but as I understand it, in the US at least, a manufacturer cannot just blanket “void your warranty.” If a modification could plausibly have caused a failure then they could deny coverage for that failure, but unrelated failures should remain covered. It seems unlikely that you would run into trouble with a video mirror causing a warranty denial on something like a traction battery fault or the AC failing, for example. Also, given that newer I-paces have a video mirror, would the average service tech even realize it’s a modification?

·
Registered
MY2019
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks @kkemp - I did see something similar to what you're suggesting re "not a blanket void unless related fault" in my searches, but then I thought there's a possibility to connect anything to anything if someone really wanted to blame an aftermarket mirror (in your example) a battery drain (mirror drains 12v or whatever battery is involved in the rear mirror power, causes more load somewhere else, that leads somehow to the traction battery...bah I'm playing Devil's Advocate here you know where I'm trying to get to with this example!)