Phantom Drain - Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By sciencegeek
  • 2 Post By McRat
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-25-2018, 10:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Meldev##44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 138
Question Phantom Drain

As people start receiving their I-Paces, it would be nice to
know the facts on what is the phantom drain current & power
as the car sits for a given period of time. (with no charger hooked up)

Or what is the power lost per day while parked.
Meldev##44 is offline  
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-25-2018, 10:37 PM
Senior Member
 
sciencegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 1,051
What does it matter, you want to drive the beast, there should never be a day that you park it all day!!!!
WattAJag likes this.
sciencegeek is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-06-2018, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 710
The cost isn't important, but for long term storage while not plugged in it is important. My i3, i8, Bolt and Leaf had negligible phantom drain, you could leave them 3 months at 50% charge with no issues. This is not true of Teslas, they have to be plugged in because they have drain that could empty a battery based on size and time. Older models are worse. If the battery fully drains and "bricks" you are done, you need a new battery. That would hurt.

Part of why this is important is you never want to leave a battery at full or empty for long period of time, so ideal storage would be around 50%. But if there is significant drain then you are either forced to fully charge before you store (full charge) or have it plugged in (remains full charge). The Tesla has a storage mode that maintains ideal charge if plugged in, but you have to have a plug where you store it.

I came back from one trip with my Tesla almost bricked because on a new firmware update something prevented the storage mode from kicking in the charger. I randomly checked and I was sitting at 7% in the red...I think I had one more week.
epirali is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-02-2018, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 357
I wonder if they don't need a "long term storage" mode that would shut down attempts to contact WIFI, and things like that.
WattAJag is online now  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
McRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norco, California, USA
Posts: 1,326
There is a long term storage mode in the settings accessed by pushing down steering wheel left side roller IIRC. The car will go to sleep for a programmed interval.
Haven't tried it though.
sciencegeek and WattAJag like this.

Jaguar i-Pace FE Photon Red 20" wheels, "Leaper"
Two Chevrolet Volts in service
24.2 kW x 480v 3ph solar array self-installed.
McRat is online now  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 357
Good to know. Thanks. There are a lot of hidden gems in those menus.

Which reminds me: The car I drove today kept saying "Cruise Control Not Allowed" (or something to that effect) - And, neither I nor the salesman knew why or what to change to make it start to work. In my own I-Pace (soon to be replaced) the SET button just worked without needing to set some option when I got it. Any idea what would cause the Cruise Control to refuse to set?
WattAJag is online now  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
sciencegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 1,051
CRUISE CONTROL LIMITATIONS

Cruise control does not operate when:

The speed limiter or adaptive cruise control is in operation. When the vehicle is first switched on, the vehicle reverts to whichever system was used previously. Press the LIM button to switch between cruise control and the speed limiter. See USING CRUISE CONTROL.

The vehicle's speed is below 20 mph (32 km/h).

The brake pedal is pressed.

The gear selector is moved to Neutral (N) or Reverse (R).

The Electric Parking Brake (EPB) is applied.
sciencegeek is online now  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by sciencegeek View Post
CRUISE CONTROL LIMITATIONS

Cruise control does not operate when:

The speed limiter or adaptive cruise control is in operation. When the vehicle is first switched on, the vehicle reverts to whichever system was used previously. Press the LIM button to switch between cruise control and the speed limiter. See USING CRUISE CONTROL.

The vehicle's speed is below 20 mph (32 km/h).

The brake pedal is pressed.

The gear selector is moved to Neutral (N) or Reverse (R).

The Electric Parking Brake (EPB) is applied.
Or it was just another phantom electronic quirk, such as screens remaining blank, smart settings not loading, backup camera not turning off, etc. which are generally fixed by shutting the car off and restarting. My car displayed the same message today for no apparent reason, so I turned it off and back on and it worked fine.
Dantrium is online now  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
sciencegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 1,051
reboot
sciencegeek is online now  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
McRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norco, California, USA
Posts: 1,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by WattAJag View Post
Good to know. Thanks. There are a lot of hidden gems in those menus.

Which reminds me: The car I drove today kept saying "Cruise Control Not Allowed" (or something to that effect) - And, neither I nor the salesman knew why or what to change to make it start to work. In my own I-Pace (soon to be replaced) the SET button just worked without needing to set some option when I got it. Any idea what would cause the Cruise Control to refuse to set?
If the radar or camera area gets dirty, some cars will disable Adaptive Cruise.

Jaguar i-Pace FE Photon Red 20" wheels, "Leaper"
Two Chevrolet Volts in service
24.2 kW x 480v 3ph solar array self-installed.
McRat is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome