Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum banner

IPace UK test drive video

9K views 30 replies 12 participants last post by  Riggald 
#1 ·
#4 ·
Range video

New video from JGR, appears to be released today. I am no techie but the basic math would suggest the 240-250 mile range in some range of conditions altho it would appear to be heavily highway driving. Regardless, still excited about new vehicle I have ordered

#5 ·
Charged to 100%, battery 'preconditioned', set eco mode, and set climate to doesn't do a thing mode.

Yea, no thanks. I hop in our Model 3, charged to 90% and rack up 230 miles driving it like the sports car it is... and still have miles left over!

What a pointless "test". I like the car, but they might as well have not done anything.
It would have been better to simply not make this video at all...

#6 ·
Yeah, I see a lot of discussion, especially on UK site, questioning the merits of this test. The steady erosion of initial range claims is disappointing, to be sure. So, folks will simply need to assess whether they can live with daily ~200 miles, and perhaps stretching for longer runs. For me, 200+ will likely comprise no more than 5 out of hundreds of trips per year. . .

#15 ·
200 miles is exactly what I want. The Bolt is rated at 238, and I got 200 per charge driving as fast and as inefficiently as I want. I don't ever want to have to worry about power usage in a car, and 200 miles real world range does it for me. I never go more than about 160 in a day, unless it's a long trip where I'll be taking the big gas guzzler anyway. EVs are still city cars for the foreseeable future, even Teslas. So if the I-Pace delivers a solid 200 miles, that works for me. If it's less, I'd pass and wait for something better - life is just too short to waste any of it on range anxiety.

#7 ·