Anyone install an AC Inverter for 120v use? - Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
McRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norco, California, USA
Posts: 1,318
Anyone install an AC Inverter for 120v use?

I think I need about 1500 watts to use the car as a power source for tools.

Tell me your story.

Jaguar i-Pace FE Photon Red 20" wheels, "Leaper"
Two Chevrolet Volts in service
24.2 kW x 480v 3ph solar array self-installed.
McRat is offline  
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
sciencegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 1,044
The 12V system aint gonna support that. Do you want to plug into the traction battery ?!?
sciencegeek is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
McRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norco, California, USA
Posts: 1,318
The DC-DC Jaguar EV inverter is larger than 2kW, since it must run all the 12v systems on board.
You park the car in the ON position. You turn on the inverter (hooked through heavy gauge wires to 12v battery with fuse) which is mounted in the bonnet.
The DC-DC Inverter of the the Jag will power >1000 watts with headlights off and stereo off (more than 1000w) and will use the 12v battery as a buffer.

It can be done, just like any car. The DC-DC inverter in an I-Pace is more powerful than the alternator in a car.

1500 watts is less than 2kW.

Jaguar i-Pace FE Photon Red 20" wheels, "Leaper"
Two Chevrolet Volts in service
24.2 kW x 480v 3ph solar array self-installed.
McRat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
sciencegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 1,044
What's the spec on that fuse?
sciencegeek is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
McRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norco, California, USA
Posts: 1,318
100 amp slo-blow. It will start 1500w capacitive loads, but can't sustain more than 1200w.

Jaguar i-Pace FE Photon Red 20" wheels, "Leaper"
Two Chevrolet Volts in service
24.2 kW x 480v 3ph solar array self-installed.
McRat is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: So Calif
Posts: 381
I think you are fine for intermittent use. If you want a buffer to help moderate the immediate load on the vehicle consider making up a battery-inverter combo to bring along and use some jump cables to keep it topped off. Otherwise just about every power tool is available as battery powered and could easily be charged through an inverter.
Time2Roll is online now  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-30-2019, 09:59 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
McRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norco, California, USA
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Time2Roll View Post
I think you are fine for intermittent use. If you want a buffer to help moderate the immediate load on the vehicle consider making up a battery-inverter combo to bring along and use some jump cables to keep it topped off. Otherwise just about every power tool is available as battery powered and could easily be charged through an inverter.
Basically it would be used to recharge the batteries for portable tools. My chargers are up to 550w, and I have two chargers. I've been using my I-Pace in place of my pickup on some jobs. But the batteries stop me.

Jaguar i-Pace FE Photon Red 20" wheels, "Leaper"
Two Chevrolet Volts in service
24.2 kW x 480v 3ph solar array self-installed.
McRat is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-30-2019, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Middle OH, USA, Earth
Posts: 131
Can you connect to the 12V battery posts of the large 12V battery like you would on an ICE? Yes, that would be under the cover they tell you to remove for fluid inspections, but I don't see that as a difficult thing to do since there are some nearby openings in other covers you could route wiring through if needed.

BTW, the car will shut down after about 20 minutes if it is "started" and doesn't move.
Ayepace is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome