Integrate phone with car display? - Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Integrate phone with car display?

I'd like to use Google/Waze on my phone rather than the car's system. I keep thinking that I should be able to take over the car's display with my phone. But I haven't figured out how.

I've signed up for Android Auto. All it does is what I could do before, i.e. Google/Waze/Stitcher, etc., on the phone, not on the car.

I've signed up for Jaguar Remote. It doesn't seem to do much helpful.

I keep getting a "sign-in" request on the map on the car's center display. However, when I try to sign-in, I can't get very far. Either the screen doesn't respond, or it's missing key characters. And I'm not really sure what I'm signing into anyway.

Is there a way to do what I want, use the phone as my main device, and take over the car display?
DoubleD is offline  
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
sciencegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 987
You need to set the settings in AA so that when you plug your phone into one of the USB ports in the center compartment AA launches automatically.

Be aware that there's a new and hugely improved version of AA coming very soon. As for the center screen displaying exactly what's on your phone's screen, there is a way but you'd have to root your phone but you probably don't want that.
sciencegeek is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Posts: 648
If you have AA on your phone and you enable it as the default connection in the car's settings, then the moment you plug in the phone, it should force AA and then sync with the screen. Also you have to plug into the armrest usb, not any other. And AA needs a physical connection.

Photon FE, 2013 FR-S, 2017 RAM 1500, 2014 Forester
jsimon7777 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
still confused

Well, I've tried it with the phone plugged into the center rather than on Bluetooth. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the app to try to get the latest. I still don't see anything on the car display. Also, now the AA wants to take over my phone even when I'm not in the car. It started playing my phone messages out loud last night at home. Even when I thought I closed the app, it was still playing. I may have to uninstall it for good as I just can't make any sense of it.

Any other ideas?
DoubleD is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome