Software-Over-The-Air (SOTA) update for Touch Pro Duo explained - Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum
 10Likes
Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 13
Software-Over-The-Air (SOTA) update for Touch Pro Duo explained

Some of you may be lucky already receiving software update over the air, others still waiting for it... So a bit of explanation below, how it works, and what needs to be done.

There are two ways, how your vehicle may get sent software update over the air for your Touch Pro system.

1. Dealer may initiate sending software to your vehicle
2. Jaguar will send new software as a periodic update to your vehicle (like Apple does with iPhones, Samsung with Android phones, or even your smart-TV producer)

According to Jaguar comms, there have been already successfully completed trials of this way of updating Touch Pro system. Following this, selected JLR (so also for Land Rovers and Range Rovers) customers in UK (as a first territory) received at the beginning of April, that software update for Touch Pro (and Touch Pro Duo) will be send soon to their vehicles. Some of them already received them.

Moreover, from the beginning or April, dealers can send the software update over the air. So rather than connecting dealer's laptop to your vehicle, they can trigger it from their TOPIX web-portal.

So some details, how it can be done. Below processes are only for the vehicles which are capable of getting software over the air, so basically those which got Connectivity Packet fitted, SIM card with available data package inserted (or vehicle connected to external WiFi hotspot), and vehicle is in the range of internet connectivity.

Dealer triggered software update over the air
  1. your vehicle would need to be added by JLR (either by global team, or by dealer) to the pool of vehicles eligible to get SOTA updates. Dealer can do it via TOPIX web-portal, after entering you VIN, clicking on SOTA toggle button:

  2. you need to:
    - make sure you have internet connectivity in your vehicle (SIM card inserted with available data package, Mobile connectivity enabled)
    - Software updates enabled in your vehicle (Settings->All settings>Software update > turned on / Enabled), you need to accept T&Cs.

    - then you need to press Check for update to initiate first hand-shake with JLR server. If you would forget to do so, vehicle does hand-shakes every 24h to check new SW availability. After first hand-shake, it is quite rare that new SW is available - look at the next points.
  3. If there is new SW available for you, dealer will see it in the TOPIX. And if there is, he sent it to your vehicle by pressing 'Update'

  4. Now you can Check for Update again in your vehicle. The popup should appear saying, that new software is available for installation. You choose to install.

JLR triggered Touch PRO software update over-the-air

As I mentioned above, JLR will periodically send to eligible vehicles new Touch Pro software over the air.
Process is similar as above:
  1. JLR will add your vehicle (if not already done before) to the pool of vehicles eligible to get SOTA updates.
  2. You would need to have enabled Software Updates
  3. Your vehicle is checking every 24h for new software (only if it is powered up; it it is locked, it wont check)
  4. You will get popup notification once new SW is available for your vehicle and you need to choose install

Touch Pro software download and installation process
Download and installation of Touch Pro happens in the background and can be over multiple drives. You do not need to care about it. Once 'Install button' was hit, vehicle will do everything for you seamlessly. It can pause process once you lock vehicle, and resumes at the next start of the vehicle. Download and installation is paused once vehicle is locked - that is to protect from getting flatten your 12V battery (YES - you have got one in your I-Pace).

You can check status of the download or install in the software update page. There is no progress bar unfortunately...

Once installation is finished in one drive, at the subsequent drive new software are getting 'activated' to finish the whole process. You can see it as a status in software update page saying 'software installation will continue after vehicle shutdown'. In fact you need to shut down and lock vehicle for 5 minutes, to trigger full re-boot of the Touch Pro.

At the next unlock, Touch Pro boots up from the new software, and software activation process starts. As part of the activation, Live app is downloaded and re-installed. You can spot it, as instead of side panel (the one with Weather, News, mini media player, etc), you have got Jaguar logo. Live app download and install duration depends on your mobile network connectivity. Progress of download and installation of Live you can see if you will enter into Live (from Extra features page, on the right from the HOME page) - you have got a progress bar there
Once Live is installed, you will get banner shown "Live apps updated"

In the meantime you can see also the banner, that New Software was installed successfully. From that moment, new software version is also visible in the Software Update page.

FAQ
  1. Q: Will maps get updated as part of the update? A: No. You need to follow the process of downloading the map to the USB stick (min 32GB) from the web-site www.jaguar.here.com
  2. Q: Can I skip or defer for later the software update? A: Yes, if you will select 'remind me later', new popup reminder will appear no earlier than after 6 hours. If you will skip it, no popups will be shown, but you can manually Check for update.
McRat, bruintoo, Calidave and 2 others like this.
requieh is offline  
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 76
Garage
If anyone has successfully updated from 18C or 18D to 19A, please post. I tried on mine (following the instructions above), but it fails. One thing to note is the "button" to enable or disable software updates is non-functional, even though it says "Software updates on" next to it (maybe that means it's not enabled, or they dealer has to do something to it directly that I can't do through a Topix subscription).
CyberSlug is online now  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 50
Thanks for posting all this info. Much obliged!
LauderdaleFE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberSlug View Post
If anyone has successfully updated from 18C or 18D to 19A, please post. I tried on mine (following the instructions above), but it fails. One thing to note is the "button" to enable or disable software updates is non-functional, even though it says "Software updates on" next to it (maybe that means it's not enabled, or they dealer has to do something to it directly that I can't do through a Topix subscription).
The dealer needs to enable SOTA for your specific vehicle by VIN. Until that happens, you cannot do OTA. Several have noted their I-Pace tech is currently at training. I suspect this is one of the areas they are receiving training on. However, the I-PACE is not the only JLR product to receive SOTA, I don’t understand why it seems to be so difficult for them.

Photon Red FE
Dantrium is online now  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 76
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantrium View Post
The dealer needs to enable SOTA for your specific vehicle by VIN. Until that happens, you cannot do OTA. Several have noted their I-Pace tech is currently at training. I suspect this is one of the areas they are receiving training on. However, the I-PACE is not the only JLR product to receive SOTA, I dont understand why it seems to be so difficult for them.
For some reason I thought the first step in the post (enabling in Topix) could be done ourselves (the toggle works, but I guess doesn't do anything?).
CyberSlug is online now  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberSlug View Post

For some reason I thought the first step in the post (enabling in Topix) could be done ourselves (the toggle works, but I guess doesn't do anything?).
“Dealer triggered software update over the air

1. your vehicle would need to be added by JLR (either by global team, or by dealer) to the pool of vehicles eligible to get SOTA updates. Dealer can do it via TOPIX web-portal, after entering you VIN, clicking on SOTA toggle button:”

Photon Red FE

Last edited by Dantrium; 04-12-2019 at 10:12 PM.
Dantrium is online now  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 10:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 76
Garage
I completely get that it says "Dealer" there. My confusion is apparently about Topix generally.

Having paid the insane subscription price, it appears to provide the full access a dealer has, including the ability to toggle the SOTA button (which I did). It is entirely possible that it will work if a dealer does it instead of someone with their individual subscription, but if so the error messages in Topix are definitely not right (and why let someone that isn't eligible to turn it on flip the toggle in the first place?).

That is part of why I've asked if anyone has been able to do this. I figure there has to be at least 1 person on the board that is actually a dealer and could use their Topix access to do so, and if it doesn't work them then that indicates either (a) it isn't completely enabled yet, or (b) some cars require a wired update to enable SOTA in the first place (H159v4 possibly? which doesn't show up in Topix for me). Alternatively, if it does work for them, then either (b) is actually true, and/or (c) Topix does distinguish dealers vs. non-dealers for what you can do to a car you've subscribed for and it just can't report appropriate errors.
sciencegeek and fedorachef like this.
CyberSlug is online now  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 11:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberSlug View Post
I completely get that it says "Dealer" there. My confusion is apparently about Topix generally.

Having paid the insane subscription price, it appears to provide the full access a dealer has, including the ability to toggle the SOTA button (which I did). It is entirely possible that it will work if a dealer does it instead of someone with their individual subscription, but if so the error messages in Topix are definitely not right (and why let someone that isn't eligible to turn it on flip the toggle in the first place?).

That is part of why I've asked if anyone has been able to do this. I figure there has to be at least 1 person on the board that is actually a dealer and could use their Topix access to do so, and if it doesn't work them then that indicates either (a) it isn't completely enabled yet, or (b) some cars require a wired update to enable SOTA in the first place (H159v4 possibly? which doesn't show up in Topix for me). Alternatively, if it does work for them, then either (b) is actually true, and/or (c) Topix does distinguish dealers vs. non-dealers for what you can do to a car you've subscribed for and it just can't report appropriate errors.
I apologize I misunderstood your original comment. I talked to two different dealers after receiving this information and neither of them seem to understand how it was to be done. Both of them had said their 'I-Pace tech' was at training; which is what a couple others have reported as well...so, I guess we continue to wait.

Photon Red FE
Dantrium is online now  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 02:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 13
@CyberSlug

After toggling SOTA in TOPIX (it should light green), what have you done next?

1. You should go to a car, make sure it is connected to the internet (i.e. you got weather forecast visible), go to software update page, and 'check for update' in the Touch Pro Duo section.

Q1: what was displayed then? any banner at the top?

2. You should go back to the topix, re-fresh the page and you should see that now Topix knows what is the SW installed in your vehicle, and shows what new SW is available for you (if there is any)

Q2: what was displayed in the Topix? What was in the 'Status' column?
requieh is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 76
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by requieh View Post
After toggling SOTA in TOPIX (it should light green), what have you done next?

1. You should go to a car, make sure it is connected to the internet (i.e. you got weather forecast visible), go to software update page, and 'check for update' in the Touch Pro Duo section.

Q1: what was displayed then? any banner at the top?
Did that, but it says no updates available. For what it is worth, the info in Topix did not change from when the toggle was turned on to after I clicked "Check for updates" in the car. it already had all the information.

Quote:
2. You should go back to the topix, re-fresh the page and you should see that now Topix knows what is the SW installed in your vehicle, and shows what new SW is available for you (if there is any)

Q2: what was displayed in the Topix? What was in the 'Status' column?
Status shows "Update" button, but clicking it returns the error "Error occurred while performing SOTA operation, please contact system administrators or try again later." instantly.

Screenshot of what Topix shows attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-04-13 at 12.28.05.png
Views:	43
Size:	73.8 KB
ID:	1635  
CyberSlug is online now  
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I-Pace HSE Infotainment system bugs w Android chaan126 Jaguar I-Pace EV Issues And Problems 16 04-11-2019 08:24 PM
SOTA coming soon! Dantrium Jaguar I-Pace Features and Equipment 12 04-08-2019 01:39 AM
Software update brings charging to 100kW speeds Pseudonym 2018+ Jaguar I-Pace EV 400 General Discussion 3 10-31-2018 12:38 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome