Drove the I-Pace Today - Jaguar I-Pace EV400 Forum
 16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 06:49 PM Thread Starter

Drove the I-Pace Today

I drove 80 miles to the nearest Jaguar dealership to drive the I-Pace HSE. I’ve got a Tesla Model X, so I wanted to compare the two vehicles.

The Jaguar definitely seemed to handle and ride better than the Model X. The X is larger and higher, and has a rougher ride. The interior of the Jaguar was finished nicely and more conventional. I liked the surround view cameras.

I’ve been driving the Tesla for over two years, and like my big center display. The visibility in the Tesla is superior and I normally keep my rear camera always displayed. The biggest benefit is the Tesla supercharger network. On my return trip home, I stopped at a supercharger for 30 minutes and went for a brisk walk.

I’ve got a NEMA 14-50 outlet in my garage. Would I be able to use it for the Jaguar? The salesman said that the Chargepoint solution costs about $1,500.

I’ve got to decide if the Jaguar will work for me.
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 07:22 PM

Yes the 14-50 will charge the I-Pace at the full 7 kW rate. Clipper Creek is $600 plug and play. Model HCS-40.
Actually with an adapter you can use your existing Tesla wall charger. $239 from Quick Charge Power

https://shop.quickchargepower.com/JD...r-JDPTRSTB.htm
McRat and NerdUno like this.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 07:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ormond View Post
I’ve got a NEMA 14-50 outlet in my garage. Would I be able to use it for the Jaguar? The salesman said that the Chargepoint solution costs about $1,500.

I’ve got to decide if the Jaguar will work for me.
You can buy an adapter and use your Tesla home charger if you have one. Otherwise you have a lot of choices & none of them come close to $1500.

The plug in ChargePoint is $699 on Amazon right now, but they seem to go on sale frequently.
McRat and fedorachef like this.